
Insurance Coverage Office (ICO)
 Debra Lawhead – Insurance Coverage Administrator

 dlawhead@state.de.us
 302-739-3651

 All lines of insurance for the State of Delaware except life, 
health and disability

 Marcia Lundy – Insurance Coverage Supervisor
 marcia.lundy@state.de.us
 302-739-3651

 All lines of insurance for the State of Delaware except life, 
health and disability
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Procedures
 A workers’ compensation injury must be reported to the 

Third-Party Administrator (TPA) within 24 hours. 
 The First Report of Injury Form is submitted by the Injured 

Worker’s employing Human Resource (HR) Department 
via the TPA website.   
http://pmacompanies.com/generic_reportaclaim.html

 Once the claim is submitted, the TPA Claims Processing 
Office immediately sends a confirmation of receipt that 
includes the Claim Number assigned to the claim.  

 Include your email address in the block “SEND EMAIL 
COPY TO ORIGINATOR” to obtain a copy of what was 
submitted electronically.  

http://pmacompanies.com/generic_reportaclaim.html


 A hard copy of the First Report of Injury Form is sent 
to the HR Department.  

 If the First Report of Injury notes that an employee is 
missing time from work, the TPA sends a Wage and 
Salary Verification Letter and Form to the HR 
Department Contact. 

 The HR Representative for the employing organization 
must complete the Wage & Salary Verification Form 
and return it to the TPA. (Example of this form is attached)

 Send copies of any and all disability notes to the TPA 
with the Form.  



 Within 14 days of receiving the initial “Physician’s 
Report of Workers’ Compensation Injury”, the 
employer shall provide to the health care 
provider/physician who issued the aforementioned 
report and the TPA a report of the modified duty jobs 
which may be available to the employee.  

 This report must be signed and returned by the health 
care provider within 14 days of the next date of  service 
but not later than 21 days from receipt of such form.

 The Injured Worker will be charged sick or annual 
leave until the TPA determines if the claim is a 
compensable.   



 § 2321 Minimum duration of incapacity.
Permanent injury relating to hearing or vision loss, 
surgical, medical and hospital services, medicines and 
supplies, and funeral benefits shall be paid from the first 
day of injury. Beginning with the fourth day of incapacity, 
all compensation otherwise provided by law shall be paid. 
If the incapacity extends to 7 days or more, including the 
day of injury, the employee shall receive all compensation 
otherwise provided by law from the first day of injury.



 The HR Department receives the first check and 
agreements to compensation unless the Injured Worker 
is represented by an attorney. 

 The HR Department also receives the receipt for 
compensation paid once an employee returns to work.  
(Examples attached)

 The TPA provides an indemnity register via email every 
two weeks to the Human Resources contact of the 
employing Organization. (Example attached)

 The HR Department will recoup the lost wage 
payments from the employee through payroll 
deductions. (Example attached)



 Injured Worker Lost Wage Benefits Calculation: 
§2302 Wages; definition and computation; valuation of board and lodging.
(a) "Average weekly wage" means the weekly wage earned by the employee at the time of the 
employee's injury at the job in which the employee was injured, including overtime pay, gratuities 
and regularly paid bonuses (other than an employer's gratuity or holiday bonuses) but excluding all 
fringe or other in-kind employment benefits. The term "average weekly wage" shall include the 
reasonable value of board, rent, housing or lodging received from the employer, which shall be fixed 
and determined from the facts in each particular case.
(b) The average weekly wage shall be determined by computing the total wages paid to the 
employee during the 26 weeks immediately preceding the date of injury and dividing by 26, 
provided that:

(1) If the employee worked less than 26 weeks, but at least 13 weeks, in the employment in which 
the employee was injured, the average weekly wage shall be based upon the total wage earned by 
the employee in the employment in which the employee was injured, divided by the total 
(2) If an employee sustains a compensable injury before completing that employee's first 13 
weeks, the average weekly wage shall be calculated as follows:

a. If the contract was based on hours worked, by determining the number of hours for each 
week contracted for by the employee multiplied by the employee's hourly rate;
b. If the contract was based on a weekly wage, by determining the weekly salary contracted 
for by the employee; or
c. If the contract was based on a monthly salary, by multiplying the monthly salary by 12 and 
dividing that figure by 52; and
d. If the hourly rate of earnings of the employee cannot be ascertained, or if the pay has not 
been designated for the work required, the average weekly wage, for the purpose of 
calculating compensation, shall be taken to be the average weekly wage for similar services 
performed by other employees in like employment for the past 26 weeks.

(3) In any event, the weekly compensation allowed shall not exceed the maximum or be less than 
the minimum provided by law.  



 To determine the maximum and minimum allowable 
weekly compensation, reference the Department of Labor’s 
website: http://dia.delawareworks.com/workers-
comp/documents/Workers%20Compensation%20Rate%20
Chart.pdf

 Once a weekly compensation rate is established by the 
TPA, this rate stays the same for the life of the claim. 

 An attorney or an employee can request for benefits to be 
paid under both the PIP and Workers’ Compensation 
claims when an automobile is involved. 
 The most common request is for the Workers’ Compensation claim 

to pay all the medical bills and 66 2/3 of the wages while PIP pays 
the difference between both wage benefits. 

http://dia.delawareworks.com/workers-comp/documents/Workers%20Compensation%20Rate%20Chart.pdf


 Title 29 § 5933 Leaves. (Salary Supplement)
 Whenever an officer or employee of the State, including 

those exempt from the classified service, qualifies for 
workers' compensation disability benefits, such officer or 
employee, for a period not to exceed 3 months from the date 
such compensation begins, shall not be charged sick leave 
and shall receive from the State the difference, if any, 
between the total of: 
 (1) The amount of such compensation, 
 (2) any disability benefits received under the Federal Social Security 

Act, and 
 (3) any other employer supported disability program, 

 and the amount of wages to which the officer or employee is 
entitled on the date such compensation begins…

 If while performing a hazardous duty assignment the 
employee shall be entitled to 12 months. (See the memo for 
application)


	Insurance Coverage Office (ICO)	
	Insurance Coverage Office��Workers’ Compensation Considerations
	Procedures	
	Slide Number 4
	Slide Number 5
	Slide Number 6
	Slide Number 7
	Slide Number 8
	Slide Number 9
	Slide Number 10

